Follow Us

Log in
Log in

History and Legacy of OCTM

The Ohio Council of Teachers of Mathematics was established as an idea on November 4, 1950 by a group of twelve educators convened by Harold P. Fawcett at The Ohio State University.  The first Annual Business Meeting took place on April 21, 1951 in Columbus, and OCTM has chosen to recognize its anniversaries on this date.  During these last 70+ years, thousands of educators have participated in our strong and active professional community.

At this link, you will find a history of the first 50 years of OCTM, written in the year 2000.  This history was compiled by Emalou Brumfield, Laura Anfang, and Adele Cohn, and it was based on earlier documents written by Clarence Heinke and Kenneth Cummins.  The document includes information about the beginnings of OCTM, leaders through the years, and activities that have been mainstays of the organization.

Legacy of Leaders

OCTM believes that it is vital to recognize and remember the contributions of educators who have served as leaders in OCTM and in Ohio mathematics education.  In particular, we believe that it is important to reflect on connections between their work and the goals that OCTM strives to meet today.  To this end, members of OCTM have been developing short articles to highlight our past leaders, and we will post these articles here as they are written.

 Halbert C. Christofferson
 President of NCTM, 1938-1940, and OCTM, 1952-1954
 F. Joe Crosswhite President of NCTM; Board member in OCTM
 Kenneth Cummins
 President of OCTM, 1962-1964
 Harold P. Fawcett
 President of NCTM, 1958-1960; Founding leader of OCTM
 William "Bill" Hunt
 President of OCTM, 1984-1986
 Ona Kraft
 First President of OCTM, 1951-1952; Board member in NCTM
 Marie Gugle
 President of NCTM, 1926-1928; Charter member of OCTM
 Len Pikaart
 President of OCTM, 1982-1984
 Eugene P. Smith
 President of NCTM, 1972-1974, and OCTM, 1956-1958
 Past OCTM Presidents  Complete list of presidents from 1951 to present

In addition, you can find remembrances of other cherished OCTM leaders below.

 Lynn Aring
 President of GCCTM, Board member in OCTM
 Luther Shetler
 Charter member of OCTM - Last surviving

OCTM Newsletters

The OCTM Newsletter was replaced in 2016 with our monthly eBlasts, which members receive electronically.  Interested in having something featured in the monthly eBlast?  Email

View all issues of the Newsletter from 2001-2015 HERE on Google Drive.

OCTM is an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software